be our guest

Special people sign in special places

You know that saying about never knowing how many friends you have until you have a beach house? 

I am here to tell you – the same holds true for a lake house. In all my years of living north of the
Mason Dixon line, my guest room got used, hmmm, maybe a dozen times?

IMG_2226

In the month of July, I had company 13 out of the 31 days in the month. Whew!

Don’t get me wrong, it is a good thing! I love having my friends come to visit. And I consider it the
ultimate compliment when they make themselves at home …

…especially in the kitchen!

(You see, I am not much of a cook. Not that I can’t, it just seems like a waste of time to me. In the time it takes to shop, cook and clean up from a meal, I could have painted a room… or a piece of furniture… and the results last much longer.)

But I digress.

I love my friends

I love my friends

Years ago, I visited a lake house of a friend, and she had a wood coffee table, where everyone would sign their name and the date of their visit. It was fun to look back over the years, and watch the kids’ handwriting as they grew, or see names of grandparents who might have gone to that great pontoon boat in the sky. 

I wanted something equally cool. 

barb and oar

I found this great oar in an antique store in Wilmington, NC, and decided it would be my lake house guest book. So no one gets out until they have “signed the oar!”

what a cute dog!

what a cute dog!

welcome home

welcome home

What other offbeat “guest books” have you seen? I’d love to see them!

Add to FaceBookAdd to Twitter

Leave a Reply

